Poised

poisedIt’s that breathless moment, poised at the top of the roller-coaster. Some hard work has been done on the climb up.  Exhilaration, possibly terror and some unexpected curves lie ahead.

In the foreground – cottolin warped and ready to go for some more ringing tea towels, similar to this. Normally I deliberately don’t keep track of time , given it’s the process that counts and this is my recreation.  There’s a good chance other ringers will ask for a towel, so just for once I decided to keep timing notes.  There should be enough for 3 towels, and while everything has gone smoothly so far I’m over 8 hours before starting to weave! I’m a long, long way from doing this for anything other than the love of it… and that’s fine by me.

poised_8sIn the background above is the 8 shaft table loom. Here’s a closer look – just because I love the sense of order and the promise of a warped loom. It’s ready to go too – a class work sample of collapse weave.  This is Bendigo Mills classic 2 ply. The plan is to get collapse from structure – stripes of 3/1 and 1/3 twill. I’ll use a variety of wefts, some overtwisted which should aid the collapse. It’s sett at 20epi, and I should have enough to cut off the first section, finish and review, then re-sley at a different sett (to be determined).