Poised

poisedIt’s that breathless moment, poised at the top of the roller-coaster. Some hard work has been done on the climb up.  Exhilaration, possibly terror and some unexpected curves lie ahead.

In the foreground – cottolin warped and ready to go for some more ringing tea towels, similar to this. Normally I deliberately don’t keep track of time , given it’s the process that counts and this is my recreation.  There’s a good chance other ringers will ask for a towel, so just for once I decided to keep timing notes.  There should be enough for 3 towels, and while everything has gone smoothly so far I’m over 8 hours before starting to weave! I’m a long, long way from doing this for anything other than the love of it… and that’s fine by me.

poised_8sIn the background above is the 8 shaft table loom. Here’s a closer look – just because I love the sense of order and the promise of a warped loom. It’s ready to go too – a class work sample of collapse weave.  This is Bendigo Mills classic 2 ply. The plan is to get collapse from structure – stripes of 3/1 and 1/3 twill. I’ll use a variety of wefts, some overtwisted which should aid the collapse. It’s sett at 20epi, and I should have enough to cut off the first section, finish and review, then re-sley at a different sett (to be determined).

4 Responses to “Poised”


  1. 1 Gwen February 20, 2009 at 5:15 am

    I agree – a warped loom looks and feels so good – full of promise! (And I’ve only had two so far…)

    I also tend to not pay much attention to the time I put into my hobbies – although sometimes it’s good to have a reasonable idea of how long something is going to take, especially when you are facing a deadline!

    Have fun with your tea towels! 🙂

  2. 2 amanda February 21, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Judy
    I saw Kaz when she was in Melb last weekend. She gave me the spare texsolv heddles as they don’t fit her new loom. I checked and there were actually 2 sizes in the bag. We think one of them will fit your loom. Can you email me and I can post them to you?
    Amanda

  3. 3 Terri February 21, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I love using Cottolin for towels. Interesting, growing up my grandmother called them tea towels but it seems here in the U.S. they are called dishtowels. I think I’ll go back to calling them tea towels in honor of my grandmother.

    Enjoy the process!


  1. 1 Down with a bump « Fibres of Being Trackback on February 22, 2009 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Archives

Categories


