Weekly roundup 11 September 2016

Lecture: Jessica Priebe The artist as collector (part of the AGNSW Collectors & Collections series).

This lecture looked at the collections and collecting habits of seven artists, from Rubens to Hirst.
Only a couple of specific notes. Andy Warhol’s interest in the container rather than the contained – how we have to learn what catches our attention, not necessarily obvious. Edgar Degas would get a photograph if he couldn’t get the original – don’t be precious or purist, do what works for you. Picasso, Les Demoiselles d’Avignon an example of collection items incorporated in his artistic practice – reference, transform, use.

Exhibitions:
I’ve posted separately about Sally Simpson Objects for an Unknown Future Museum (11-Sept-2016).

The State Library of NSW has a number of garden-themed exhibitions on. Planting dreams: Grand garden designs has some wonderful photos and film, but many of the gardens were too perfect for me. We only had a short time in the Planting dreams: Shaping Australian gardens, but the cultural history lens was very interesting. I hope to return.

Basketry NSW catch-up:
My first time with this group. You can see some photos of what others were doing on their facebook page.

Printed mulberry paper

Printed mulberry paper

Knotless netting

Knotless netting

Enjoyable catching up with a couple of friends and making new ones.

I took my mono-printed mulberry project (4-Sep-2016) to work on, but not enough of it. A couple of members showed me knotless netting, so I tried that and have since experimented with different tensions and number of knots, plus an attempt at a strip rather than circular.

So much to learn!

Reading
Part way through a book, so more when that is finished. However the main focus has been…

the new/revamped OCA level 2 Textiles course has been released – Contemporary Context. I’ve been reading and re-reading the sample provided, then writing lists of where my interests lie, what the course covers, and what alternatives I might have. My preferred path is firmly in contemporary art. The course includes some of that, but also interior design and fashion textiles. I’m sure I’d learn lots relevant to me – but not necessarily core, and possibly not enough to excite and motivate me through long and difficult studies.

Not a straight-forward decision, and not one I want to rush into.

7 Responses to “Weekly roundup 11 September 2016”


  1. 1 Inger Weidema September 12, 2016 at 1:51 am

    Interesting to read of you thought on contemporary context. Do you have good alternatives with more textile art at level two?

  2. 3 Claire B September 12, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    Judy, do you have a netting shuttle? I might have a spare if you want to continue with netting techniques. I’ve got fishing shuttles. Did I give you one when I was studying Exploring Ideas because I got them then and I remember thinking of you?

    • 4 fibresofbeing September 12, 2016 at 7:08 pm

      Timely reminder Claire!
      You did give me one and I got it out this evening. Found it very tricky to manage with the knotless loops. Will have to try again with something a little more stable.


  1. 1 Weekly roundup 18 September 2016 | Fibres of Being Trackback on September 18, 2016 at 8:57 pm
  2. 2 Weekly roundup 25 September 2016 | Fibres of Being Trackback on September 25, 2016 at 7:06 pm
  3. 3 Weekly roundup 2 October 2016 | Fibres of Being Trackback on October 2, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Categories


