Dimensional / depth weaving

dimensional_weave_3My weekly roundup was already in draft form including tentative plans for “depth weaving” when Claire lent me a rotary corrugating tool plus a bag of goodies including embossing foil. I’d asked for her advice on corrugating metal strips or foil following my dimensional weaving experiment (12-Jun-2016).

s1-20160626

s1-20160626

The photo above shows the rotary tool, a sheet of foil, and my first sample which uses a strip of the foil.

It looks very neat and precise. It’s also reasonably firm, so accepts and holds curves I put into it. The foil is probably available in rolls, to give greater lengths – something to research.

s2-20160626

s2-20160626

Wanting more length, sample 2 used a longer piece of kitchen foil – a cheap brand and light gauge. It started as the full width of 30 cm. I kept folding, crimping, finding it still very soft, so pulling out the corrugations and folding the width more eventually down to roughly 2 cm. It holds the crimps, but not any folds I try to make.

It’s very shiny, more brash than the embossing foil. I could use the less shiny side, or use this as an advantage.

s3-20160626

s3-20160626

There was some unintentional folding and crimping at an angle in s2. I decided to push this, folding a new piece of kitchen foil and then putting more folds into the sides to create uneven width.

It went through the crimping tool without trouble, and is a little firmer in the hand than s2.

s4-20160626

s4-20160626

I liked the additional creasing in s3 where I’d put the extra folds. Wanting to get more of this, I took a new piece of kitchen foil and roughly pleated it along its length by hand. I pushed the creases flat, then used the crimping tool.

The result is still corrugated, but very textured at the detail level. Although wider than the folded s2 and s3 the result is much firmer in the hand and sits up well when I try to put in looping folds.

s1 to s4 -20160626

s1 to s4 -20160626

I see s1 and s4 as the samples with potential at the moment.

S1 is lovely and crisp and precise. Less shiny than the others – it looks more elegant and expensive to me. It doesn’t demand attention and I think would work well with other materials and allow the focus to be on the dimensional folding.

S4 has lots of extra texture and interest. You lose some of the corrugations that were my original intention, but you get a lively effect and extra stability in return. It could be a bit of a prima donna.

s5-20160626 view 2

s5-20160626 view 2

s5-20160626

s5-20160626

S5 is the 4 previous samples, woven together with strips of insect mesh. The structure is plain weave, although that’s not apparent with all the loops of extra material. I attempted some twists in the mesh with the idea of varying tones, but it didn’t hold. Lots of options to address that if I choose.

What next?

  • I’ve already mentioned (earlier today) metal and much crisper/neater, then undulating the folds of metal so they suggest an image, then use the gridded mesh weft to create tone. pleat_13That idea may have started thinking of the Barak building in Melbourne (link), and searching for that link took me back to corrugation experiments in MMT Part 1, which I should probably revisit (5-Apr-2015).
  • Attempts could be to highlight the view through, or Fontana’s infinite dimension…
  • Print p4-89

    Print p4-89

    Collagraph plate. More work to emboss obviously. How about a diptych, one side a collagraph print, the other an embossed, cut into strips and woven version – what would the new dimension show or suggest, the newly exposed interior? Thinking of that took me back to printing in MMT – the paper shown here was heavily embossed, although the photograph doesn’t show that well (can’t take a new photo, as it’s with OCA in the UK waiting for assessment, and will probably be thoroughly flattened going through the post). Can one print on foil?
  • Variations in the corrugation – for example slit and twist, especially with the foils that have colour on one side. This reminds me of wrapped warp techniques – in a previous post (14-Oct-2012) I mentioned Sheila Hicks’s Zapallar (link).
  • lace & finger manipulated sampler

    lace & finger manipulated sampler

    Other weave structures, especially with the new depth, could be reimagined. Supplementary weft? Theo Moorman technique – that could really be worth exploring. Or spanish lace – being foil and corrugated there must be ways to take advantage of the open / turning areas to go a bit wild.
  • Perhaps I could emboss the foil in a way similar to the pvc board in the workshop with Jet James (16-Jul-2015), although that’s working very fine and detailed.
  • I could write on the foil – as a long strip, or a page of text that is then cut.
  • I’m sure there’s more, but I want to stop my mind racing and spend more time with the materials. Experience them. Listen to them.

    3 Responses to “Dimensional / depth weaving”


    1. 1 Lottie June 27, 2016 at 2:08 am

      This is an exciting tool in your hands!

      • 2 fibresofbeing June 27, 2016 at 10:18 am

        I’m certainly excited!
        It’s a strange time at the moment, without the direction of college work. So many things catching my attention, never enough time (sooo badly behind on blog reading), but miss that core purpose which drives and focuses.


    Leave a Reply

        Instagram

    Germination II
In Basketry NSW Transformation exhibition Sunday 2 July. More info fibresofbeing.wordpress.com

    Calendar of Posts

    June 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

    Archives

    Categories


