T1-MMT-P5-s6 Third photo shoot

At the end of the last post I had a plan. To keep myself on track I sketched out some do’s and don’ts.


The next day I went out fresh, set up floor, background, concrete chunks, the best lighting I could manage, took breaks when indicated… Not easy. In the end I got two photographs which approach what I was looking for.

Sample p5-52

Sample p5-52
Click image for larger view

The photo is a larger size than usual, so you can see the textures if you wish. I’m very happy with the mix of textures, the mix of materials. There’s asymmetry and I see the tilt of the plaster vessel first. It takes some time to see the slightly precarious situation of the other vessel.

Sample p5-53

Sample p5-53
Click image for larger view

I was interested in coming right out of the picture towards the viewer, but I’m not convinced by this photo. To me it’s a positive that my eye doesn’t move around smoothly – that fits with the idea of teetering, off-balance. It would be better if the top slab was tilted, as if about to tip off to the left. There’s actually just of sliver of light visible, but too subtle.

Next I went back to the concept of a pile of objects, experimenting with space.

I am ambivalent about this video. Hopefully it gives an idea of the space created, the interaction of different pieces. I see more when I watch it again – for example in a section on glorious failure I see orange in the object, picked up from other pieces nearby. I think the environment and props enhance the collection.

On the other hand the video itself is poor quality, the picture shaky, transitions clumsy (I pieced it together from a dozen shorter videos filmed). I believe it is as good as I could achieve with current expertise, my tablet, domestic lighting, and free software.

Overall valuable experimentation.

T1-MMT-P5-s6 Third photo shoot
Textiles 1 – Mixed Media for Textiles
Part 5: A final piece
Stage 6: Prototype/maquette-making
Third photo shoot

8 Responses to “T1-MMT-P5-s6 Third photo shoot”


  1. 1 Anne March 28, 2016 at 11:03 am

    I enjoyed the video, your commentary as the viewpoint changed made a more meaningful experience than simply reading, for me anyway. I love the corrugated cardboard casting, it’s beautiful.

    • 2 fibresofbeing March 28, 2016 at 7:37 pm

      Thanks Anne. That’s really helpful – I’ve wondered if there is really added value, or just change for its own sake.
      Yes – corrugations. So responsive to light, and the plaster seems to glow.

      • 3 Anne March 29, 2016 at 5:36 am

        I think, watching a video, one goes back to read the words and view the images in a deeper way. I would like to try it myself.


  1. 1 T1-MMT-P5 Sketchbook update 20-Mar-2016 | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 20, 2016 at 7:50 pm
  2. 2 T1-MMT-P5-s7 Reflection – Part 5 | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 27, 2016 at 7:03 pm
  3. 3 Weekly roundup 17 April 2016 | Fibres of Being Trackback on April 17, 2016 at 6:45 pm
  4. 4 T1-MMT-P5-s6 Final photo shoot | Fibres of Being Trackback on May 14, 2016 at 7:38 pm
  5. 5 Mixed Media for Textiles – Submission for Assessment | Fibres of Being Trackback on May 16, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

March 2016
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Categories


