T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-8

I received some helpful feedback from fellow students and my tutor following my first attempts at video presentation of work (5-Feb-2016).

One question regarded use of video for assessment, and my tutor has confirmed they should be useful as long as they are embedded in my blog. The narrated and more dynamic version was preferred by everyone who responded. I’ve now organised a less textured background (ie not unironed sheets!), although in the end stayed with white as I need all the light I can get during filming. Most of the new video is shot very close to the object which could be an issue, but I’ve tried to pick it up and move it around to give an idea of its physical characteristics. There are also a couple of photos inserted, which may add some interest. I think the biggest downside of the new version is that it’s longer.

Sample p5-8 view 2

Sample p5-8 view 2

Sample p5-8 was first presented 14-Feb-2016. I didn’t feel my text or photographs really showed what I was seeing in the work. I hope this video is more effective – any more feedback or suggestions very welcome.

Edit 28-Feb-2016: Inger suggested a closeup picture of the thread ends. Updating the video would be tricky, instead below is a detail showing both threads and some of the blue fuzz on the general surface.

Sample p5-8 thread detail

Sample p5-8 thread detail

T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-8
Textiles 1 – Mixed Media for Textiles
Part 5: A final piece
Stage 4: Recording outcomes
Presentation of sample p5-8

5 Responses to “T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-8”


  1. 1 karenwoodfield February 20, 2016 at 12:01 am

    excellent video – I enjoyed the comparison with your other samples – I expect the tutors and assessors would value this part.

  2. 2 Lottie February 20, 2016 at 3:29 am

    Well done! I find this sample mesmerising and the video really helps convey the piece for me.

  3. 3 Inger Inanna Weidema February 27, 2016 at 8:12 pm

    great video – I am a fan of your calm voice. You manage to bring me into the room with you and this really conveys the piece. I might suggest that you at the end add some closeup pictures of the thread ends – these were the only feature that I felt were not revealed to me. Thank for breaking new ground here.


  1. 1 T1-MMT-P5-s2 Research – Gillian Lowndes | Fibres of Being Trackback on February 26, 2016 at 5:18 pm
  2. 2 T1-MMT-P5-s7 Reflection – Part 5 | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 27, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Goodyer girls long weekend in Hobart

Calendar of Posts

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Archives

Categories


