T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-4

Presentation of work for assessment is a challenge for distance learners. Virtually all the OCA students face it, but Mixed Media for Textiles includes challenges of fragile / over-sized / heavy / temporary samples. Postage from Australia is another issue, then with my “collection of vessels: an exploration of materials and space” I’ve made it still harder. How can I present the physical evidence of that?

Sample p5-4

Sample p5-4

At least part of my submission must be actual work mailed and able to be picked up and examined by the assessors, but I will need to augment that with material in my blog. So while sampling vessels I’m also sampling how to present them in space.

This first attempt is a presentation of sample p5-4, initially discussed 31-Jan-2016.

First a simple video showing a rotating view of the sample. No voice because I was trying to keep it short and the focus on the vessel – but I suspect it’s deadly boring.

Next my discussion of the sample, trying to point out what intrigues me about it. This is heavily influenced by Ceramic Points of View: ‘Cup on Base’, by Gillian Lowndes on the Victoria and Albert Museum website http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/c/ceramics-points-of-view-gillian-lowndes-cup-on-base/. In particular Alison Britton picks up and move the work as she discusses it, and it really helped me to see her point of view and the mass and dimensionality of the piece.

I would really appreciate any feedback on the usefulness or otherwise of these, so any comments or suggestions are particularly welcome.

In my discussion I mention sketching the sample. I haven’t posted those pages yet, so a preview is below.

T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-4
Textiles 1 – Mixed Media for Textiles
Part 5: A final piece
Stage 4: Recording outcomes
Presentation of sample p5-4

12 Responses to “T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-4”


  1. 1 karenwoodfield February 5, 2016 at 9:51 pm

    I think your description of the work is really interesting and may be ok for assignments however I am unsure what is acceptable for assessment as the rules are different. Having overseas student is nothing new so there must be some guidelines.

    • 2 fibresofbeing February 5, 2016 at 10:59 pm

      Thanks Karen
      I and others have corresponded with OCA about postage constraints in the past, and they have accepted we need some latitude . For ACA I made sure to mention the issue in my submission. A1 impossible, A2 only possible if a parcel too shallow for any dimensional work, mountboard too heavy etc. The nature of MMT is particularly challenging.

      I know Australia Post has revised its rules since I last posted, so will need to do more research.

  2. 3 ninaoconnor February 5, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    Hi Judy, I have looked at your video’s several times and my thoughts are as follows, I agree that the first video isn’t very dynamic and doesn’t add value to your design. In the second video, your explanation is much more effective and interesting, especially as you turn the vessel and show detail. It might benefit from a darker background. The scraping so we can hear the resin finish is particularly effective. Adding a bit more detail about the texture of the organza, the feel, the weight, might add value. I think it could be shorter, limited to 1 min or 1 min, 10. It would be good if you could photograph it to show the sparkling resin droplets (I thought this when I saw an earlier post too).
    Your sketches show a lot of movement but would be more dynamic if bolder, a thicker pen, more colour or coloured paper. As your blog has a white background, the white paper is a bit lost against it. This applies a little to the video too.
    I hope this is helpful and viewed as constructive criticism – I enjoy your risk taking and continue to be in awe of your bold approach to materials!

    • 4 fibresofbeing February 5, 2016 at 11:04 pm

      Thanks Nina, that’s all really helpful, just the sort of detail and suggestions I was hoping for. I ad libbed this time, but next time will try jotting down notes first which should make the talk tighter – hopefully bring down time and give some more detail.
      I’ll do some thinking and experimenting on the sketching and background front too.

  3. 5 Leslie February 6, 2016 at 8:41 am

    Hi, Judy. The first video wasn’t _deadly_ boring, but it didn’t convey as much information as showing the piece from all angles. Your second video is very engaging and effective. You did a super job with the physical description, using your fingers to emphasize the physical features. I agree that adding audio descriptors (scraping) is especially effective. I would consider, when you are tightening up your talk, placing your focus on providing the viewer with a simulation of picking up and examining your piece. Leave what can be effectively expressed in text for your blog. I don’t mind the white background, but the “texture” in the background competes with the texture in the piece. I really liked the tight view while you were describing the piece, but I also wanted to feel like I was seeing the whole piece at once at some point. Maybe zoom in from a wider shot at the beginning if you can manage it with your video/editing setup.

    • 6 fibresofbeing February 6, 2016 at 10:08 am

      Thanks Leslie, some really good pointers for me to work on. I was using a webcam and the “zoom” was so jerky and unfocused I didn’t use it. Next attempt will be with my tablet, which hopefully will be more flexible. The point about what’s in text, what’s verbal is really important – I’m going to have to work on that.


  1. 1 T1-MMT-P5 Sketchbook update 8-Feb-2016 | Fibres of Being Trackback on February 8, 2016 at 9:16 pm
  2. 2 T1-MMT-P5-s3 Vessel samples continued | Fibres of Being Trackback on February 14, 2016 at 7:37 pm
  3. 3 T1-MMT-P5-s4 Presentation of sample p5-8 | Fibres of Being Trackback on February 19, 2016 at 2:36 pm
  4. 4 T1-MMT-P5-s2 Research – Gillian Lowndes | Fibres of Being Trackback on February 26, 2016 at 5:18 pm
  5. 5 T1-MMT-P5-s7 Reflection – Part 5 | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 27, 2016 at 7:03 pm
  6. 6 T1-MMT-P5-s7 Reflection – Mixed Media for Textiles | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 28, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Archives

Categories


