T1-MMT Tutor feedback on Assignment 4 – Mono and collatype printing

I received my tutor’s feedback on Assignment 4 – Mono and collatype printing a couple of weeks ago. In the past I have shared my reflection but not the actual tutor report on this blog. In response to a recent question my tutor advised “I am totally happy with my tutor feedback forms being made public. I believe this will help other students and shows this is an open dialogue between tutors and students.” Although Rebecca’s reports have overall been very positive this feels like another step up in the vulnerability stakes. A major theme in this course has been dealing with, accepting, embracing, risk. So here is a link to download a pdf: Tutor’s feedback. Links to earlier feedback forms are included under the relevant Assignment on my Mixed Media for Textiles contents page here.

My reflection:
I’m very pleased that Rebecca has recognised both my difficulties in the early stages of the assignment and that I was able to challenge and change my mindset. The result was “a good range of work”, but I agree that the more important outcome is learning how to learn, how to reflect on and respond to difficulties, to recognise and take advantage of opportunities.

I like the suggestion of working a form around the page to see the effect on the total composition. Given composition is one of my major goals in the current assignment I need to make sure to try this. Although I have been writing about exploring space and three dimensions, photographs on this blog remain my major communication tool and I need to make them as dynamic and interesting as possible.

Bringing past samples into current work is always pleasing. As associations and connections build it gives extra depth and strength to the work. It’s also a great way to consolidate learning. I certainly mean to continue this in the current assignment.

A number of times in her reports Rebecca has encouraged me to take risks and go with even the crazy-seeming ideas. I’ve just starting sampling for my final pieces and realise I’m virtually daring myself. If I think an idea’s too out there I must try it. For future reference the current example involves crystal organza and plastic horsehair inspired by an enameled copper work by June Schwartz. It’s not looking promising, but just maybe I’ll discover something amazing from it. The focus I’ve chosen for the assignment should allow me to keep experimenting and pushing right to the end – my main concern at this point is simply time.

As soon as I read the suggestion to make pencil drawings to examine detail of some of my prints I couldn’t believe I’d missed the idea. We’re learning that feedback loop, looking at and building on what we’ve done to take us further, looking at details for something unexpected or new. I couldn’t find a way to translate the prints further, but simple lines of selected areas… of course! In the last couple of weeks I’ve been focused on developing ideas for the final piece, but I’m now at a point where I should be able to try this.

I’m currently in the research stage of assignment 5 and can see that although I’m searching widely I probably haven’t focused in enough, really picked apart what I’m seeing. As Rebecca noted I learnt a lot from the Degas detail exercise. I’ve got a couple of ideas to try over this Research stage to push myself on this.

One suggestion puzzles me. “I suggest you continue to develop ‘how’ you think about your work, learning from this deliberation and feeding it back into your creative process.” I recently read The First Book I Wish I’d Had At Art College by lb Vindbjerg (available free on amazon – here, a link given by another student on the OCA forum). It discusses eight perspectives for approaching art, which I suppose might be useful in thinking about my own work. Or could it be that I have concentrated on materials and techniques, with only cursory asides on potential content? Any suggestions would be most welcome.

I’ve listened to some TED talks on where ideas come from and made a few notes in my sketchbook. Feeling somewhat flooded by ideas during the Review stage I haven’t made deliberate practical use yet, but I’m sure the time will come.

Finally I’ve printed Rebecca’s Pointers, slightly modified, and taped them above my computer screen to keep myself on track:
• Continue to take risks, learning from happy accidents
• Maintain your excellent working practices
• Add some more drawing to this assignment in the form of line drawings of your print work
• Try working a form around the page to see the effect on the total composition
• Continue to research widely
• Pick a part your research material to find what you can learn from it
• Continue to use critical reflective thinking to learn about your work and working practices

I originally penciled in 14 March for the final assignment due date and this is the date suggested by Rebecca. However given assignment 4 was delayed a couple of weeks over the Christmas / New Year break I’m currently aiming at 28 March. If I keep focused and work steadily I should do it.

T1-MMT Tutor feedback on Assignment 4
Textiles 1 – Mixed Media for Textiles
Tutor feedback on Assignment 4 Mono and collatype printing

4 Responses to “T1-MMT Tutor feedback on Assignment 4 – Mono and collatype printing”


  1. 1 karenwoodfield January 29, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    Thanks for sharing – its good to hear Rebecca’s view point on her new course.

  2. 2 fibresofbeing January 29, 2016 at 8:41 pm

    It seems both the new courses have been very well received. Certainly I feel I’ve learnt a lot.


  1. 1 T1-MMT-P5-s3 Initial resin drizzle samples | Fibres of Being Trackback on January 31, 2016 at 3:05 pm
  2. 2 T1-MMT-P5-s7 Reflection – Part 5 | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 27, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Categories


