T1-MMT-P3-p1 Sketchbook and change of plan

After the session using composimold (26-August-2015) I felt the need to step back and think about next steps. Wanting to examine results so far more closely I worked on my photographs in gimp (GNU Image Manipulation Program).

First I manipulated individual photos.


 
Then I tried layering.
Photos layered in gimp

Photos layered in gimp


 
I like the combination of the different materials, so I tried printing out photos (glossy), carefully tore them (Assignment 1) and then combined.
Woven photos

Woven photos


The layers of photo paper separated as I tore, effectively widening the photos in one dimension. This meant they didn’t fit neatly overlapping when combined and my attempts to force the issue caused distortions. I want to carry forward the idea that a combination of materials can create tension and distortion.
 
I’ve also spent quite a lot of time handling the samples themselves – looking at them, bending and stretching, layering them in different orders… Below are a couple of my favourite combinations.
Sketch i

Image i


Sketch j

Image j


Sample p3-9, composimold impressed using a computer card, is the most effective as a top layer. There is enough patterning to create interest without obscuring the lower layer too much.

I want to take composimold further, plus I want to use it in combination with polymorph. The two materials seem to have an affinity – they are both 1 part molding materials that soften with heat. Both can be reheated and reused multiple times. The honey and white, transparency and translucency work well together. On another student’s blog I read about El Anatsui – “He feels it is important to work with a newly discovered medium until you really understand it and can “get something intrinsic out of it”” (ninaoconnor.wordpress.com).

I’d planned to move on to moulding with some silicone and some plaster that I purchased at the same time as the composimold. Instead I’ve decided to use the time to explore deeper rather than wider. It means I’ll work with few materials than suggested in the course notes, but I’m confident it’s the right choice.

===============================================
Post edited to add a detail of image d, which was based on an image of sample p3-11 (26-August-2015). Zooming in based on Lottie’s comment it looks like human skin under the microscope.

Detail of image d

Detail of image d


With colour inverted it looks to me like fibres, a closeup of felt. That suggests development possibilities.
Detail of image d, colour inverted

Detail of image d, colour inverted


===============================================

T1-MMT-P3-p1 Sketchbook and change of plan
Textiles 1 – Mixed Media for Textiles
Part 3: Molding and casting
Project 1: Sketchbook and change of plan

9 Responses to “T1-MMT-P3-p1 Sketchbook and change of plan”


  1. 1 Lottie August 30, 2015 at 2:21 am

    Image d recalls those early b&w electron microscope images of cells for me.

  2. 5 JulieB August 30, 2015 at 7:18 am

    Clear textiles possibilities; good use of technology to enhance creativity rather than as a substitute for creativity. Interesting to read about the medium.


  1. 1 T1-MMT-P3-p1 Molding with Joining | Fibres of Being Trackback on September 1, 2015 at 7:40 am
  2. 2 T1-MMT-P3 Molding and casting – Review | Fibres of Being Trackback on October 12, 2015 at 7:16 pm
  3. 3 T1-MMT-P5-s2 Research – El Anatsui | Fibres of Being Trackback on February 27, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories


