T1-EI: Textiles 1 – Exploring Ideas

With Understanding Art 1 – Western Art “sent” off for assessment (actually just the blog link), I took a couple of weeks to rest up, tidy up, and check I’m still committed to the OCA Textiles course. The answer was a definite “Yes!”, and I have now enrolled in the next unit Textiles 1 – Exploring Ideas.

I have no expectations or hopes in terms of learning specific techniques or information. I feel one of the joys of a structured course of learning is that I’m pretty much guaranteed to be given the opportunity to build on previous learning and to gain valuable knowledge and skills. My expectations and hopes are all around how I use this opportunity.

  • I want to make the course my own – interpret briefs and make selections that reflect me and my interests.
  • I want to take risks and challenge myself.
  • I want to surprise myself.

A new page is set up, complete with the goals and time plan – see https://fibresofbeing.wordpress.com/textiles-1-exploring-ideas/. Time to make contact with my tutor and get started.

7 Responses to “T1-EI: Textiles 1 – Exploring Ideas”


  1. 1 Meg November 6, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Oh, my, textiles! Imagine that!! I am all smiles.

  2. 2 fibresofbeing November 6, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks Meg
    Definitely time for a happy dance!

  3. 3 Suwika Whittaker November 6, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    You have no idea how much I enjoy reading your entries. i really appreciate the education I am getting …one I could not afford or access any other way. thank you.

  4. 4 fibresofbeing November 6, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    Thank you Suwika. I love sharing this journey.

  5. 5 Lyn November 6, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    I especially like your goal of surprising yourself!

  6. 6 fibresofbeing November 7, 2014 at 7:44 am

    I find it an intriguing / exciting idea, but I’m not sure how to plan to be surprised 🙂 . Hopefully it will keep me open and pushing.


  1. 1 T1-MMT: Textiles 1 – Mixed Media for Textiles | Fibres of Being Trackback on March 20, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Categories


