Project 5 Stage 2 – Selecting design ideas

Identify design ideas to translate and develop onto fabric, well-structured in terms of contrast and harmony. At least four of them is the ask, and I’ve enjoyed trawling through previous work to find possibilities.

Shells

I have lots of sketchbook work, including variants that have been developed into a stencil and manipulated on the computer into a repeating pattern.

I could also go beyond a single motif and experiment further with a design complete in itself. I got excited with the possibilities for layering in my previous post here and the medallions could be interpreted in stamping or silk painting or… I think it would also lend itself to different proportions and be quite adaptable.

Tutankhamen inspired

This has been another favourite. I’ve sketched out here a very rough idea to use it in a bag project. I’m thinking of using this as the centrepiece, then adding hieroglyphic-like elements around it. Plus a co-ordinating fabric using related elements for the back of the bag.

Orange scribble

I did the original scribble right near the beginning, last August, and have since played with it in gimp. I like the energy and the colours, and think it could be an interesting challenge to develop elements that retain that energy and also achieve balance of some kind.

Bird

This started in the class with Peter Griffen and I’ve done a lot of work in the sketchbook since including making a stamp. While reviewing the sketchbooks I found quite a few other examples of birds – from Dufy, a mother-of-pearl playing counter, Tutankhamen – and today I tried a few ideas to adapt them into a similar bold-line style (sketchbook page here).

I’ve read the instructions a few times and am not clear on how far developed the ideas should be before I test them out on fabric, but I deem this far enough. Lots of space for one idea and experiment to spark the next. Now it’s just a question of where to start exploration.

2 Responses to “Project 5 Stage 2 – Selecting design ideas”



  1. 1 Yes!!! « Fibres of Being Trackback on March 22, 2012 at 9:07 pm
  2. 2 Project 5 Stage 4 « Fibres of Being Trackback on April 26, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories


