Weaving content!!!

None of it my work – it’s been a happy week of weaving vicariously.

Amanda's Project Report

First a lovely surprise in the mail – Amanda sent me a copy of her P2P2 Project Report, including a sample of the actual fabric. You can read all about her work on her blog here. I really enjoy the blog, but it was amazing to see in person. For a start I’m impressed by the page itself and the detailed, valuable information Amanda has recorded. What an incredible resource to create! Plus I fully support her comments on the feel of the fabric – beautifully soft, and beautifully woven. Thank you so much Amanda – I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

Susan's runner

Also this week was a get-together of Liz Calnan’s weaving group at the Guild. We’ve all studied with Liz in the past, and while formal lessons are finished it’s always great to get together, hear about what everyone’s been doing, learn a bit more from Liz and generally have a good, weaverly time. I managed to get a few photos between chatting. Susan brough in the table runner she made for the recent Guild Open Day Challenge. The photo doesn’t give an idea of the scale, but the floats are long but very stable due to the careful level of fulling/felting she got in wet finishing. The runner is a really happy mix of colours, and I like the short-cut bobbly non-fringe – again good and stable due to the finishing.

Liz's silk scarves

Liz showed us some of her recent work. Liz is a very skillful dyer as well as weaver, and her multi-coloured warps are always gorgeous. She is able to manage warp colour variations, weft colour and drafts to create a lot of variety.

Liz's mixed yarn shawl

Liz has a Serious Stash of yarn – lots of silk and wools, and also lots of novelty yarns. She has a gift in combining them – thick, thin, textured, multiple colours – all together in one warp. Somehow she puts it all together into a single, cohesive whole that drapes beautifully and is full of visual interest. Liz has explained her process and makes it sound easy (well, not incredibly hard) – but I think the key is her skill and eye for colour.
Liz also brought some of her double weave, another of her specialities, but unfortunately my photos were particularly ordinary so I won’t include them.
No weaving for me at the moment – I’m having somewhat unexpected fun, stitching. A subject for another post.

1 Response to “Weaving content!!!”


  1. 1 Amanda September 21, 2011 at 6:50 am

    I’m glad you liked your surprise!! Thanks for all the great photos!! It was definitely hard to narrow my choices down. I think I’m still going to work with the other photos once I get some of my to-do list out of the way.


Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Categories


