P2P2 round 1

This week I chose one image to explore a bit more. I played around with it using gimp, my preferred image manipulation software. Click on any of the images for a closer look.

smooth palette

Colour and line were the things that struck me in the photo. I used Colors/Info/Smooth Palette to get a first impression of stripe possibilities.

Desaturated

Next a few different views to highlight structure – first desaturated (ie grey scale), then a series of operations (blur, edge detect, colour level…) to get an outline effect.

outlines

alien map

Then some general play. Colors/Map/Alien Map gave an interesting alternative set of colours! I find it makes it easier to pick up the nesting shapes.

Seamless

Filter/Map/Make Seamless created a jumble. It was the most helpful of the many distortions I tried.

Finally I’ve taken a modified palette, with the light values removed, and layered it with the outline.

At this stage I’m thinking of diversified plain weave. That’s given the strongest, large scale geometrics in my weaving to date. I’ve dragged out my old class notes, plus Weaver’s Book of 8-Shaft Patterns edited by Carol Strickler which has a chapter on diversified plain weave and The Best of Weaver’s Thick’n Thin edited by Madelyn van der Hoogt which has lots including a modified draft which gives more blocks from the same number of shafts and simplified treadling (although the look is slightly different and the structure is so different I’m struggling with using the same name!).

Current thoughts are green and red thick warp threads, and the thin weft a neutral of similar value. The geometric patterning would be given by a light thick weft thread. The pattern would be big zig-zags and triangles, ignoring stripe boundaries. The sample/scarf I wove previously was in bendigo 2 ply, with 4 threads bundled together for the thick. This time round I could experiment with 20/2 silk, also bundled for the thick. This gives lots of colour play potential. If I sample this, I’d like to try quickly spinning the threads in the bundle together (maybe even a 2 x 2 cable, which would give 4 threads but no additional twist) – extra steps and time, but maybe it would give a more stable result than just warping the threads side by side. Another possibility is the silk chenille I used in my woven shibori experiment.

On a totally different track, possibly more weaverly and less literal than overall patterning, would be one or more stripes of geometric something set in a plain background. I’m thinking of the lace and twill scarves by Coreen Hartig on the cover of the latest Handwoven, or this striped rayon scarf by Margaret (Peg) Cherre. Peg has some interesting results with colour mixing, which could be useful when trying to manage the orange and green without generating mud.

Where does all this rambling leave me? If I want to go any of these directions, next step would be some concrete designing in Fiberworks and putting on a sample warp. Very tempting, but I think I should probably take a look at some of the other images first.

2 Responses to “P2P2 round 1”


  1. 1 Meg in Nelson June 6, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Very interesting, Judy. I especially liked what you did with stripping the image down to just outlines – I must try something like that with my Grand Canyon and Monsoon Cloud images, for starters. It “relieves” my head of hue considerations. Thank you so much for the idea. This image. to me, looked like textile to start with, so I’d be most interested in what you’ll do with your other images.

    Diversified plain weave – I know I heard the name some years ago, but I’ve never looked into it, so if you go ahead with this, I’d be most interested in the structure as well. But whatever you use, I would be very interested in how you would superimpose the “outlines” on the warps/colors. If you go with this image, that is.

    Thank you for an inspiring post! I now want to get back to my work.

  2. 2 Peg Cherre June 6, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I’m so impressed that you’re doing P2P2. I’ll be really interested to follow your progress. I had seriously considering joining the fray this year, but did think I could meet the timelines. Maybe next time…


Leave a Reply

Instagram

Goodyer girls long weekend in Hobart

Calendar of Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Categories


