Colour gamp shawl finished!

It’s done – 66 x 252 cm finished and hemmed (around 26 x 99 inches)! That’s one big piece of cloth to call a “shawl”, so it’s lucky I’m on the tall side.

Seen flat it doesn’t work for me – it looks like a picnic table cloth!. In a jumble or draped on a person it looks more interesting. That’s basically because I was focusing on its future use as a referencing and design tool, at the expense of the design of the particular piece itself.

Of the 63 colours dyed, seen here, 62 are used in the shawl (oops!!). There are 30 warp colours and 45 weft colours, including 13 colours in both warp and weft. That’s 1,350 colour combinations (possibly 1,194 after subtracting the duplicates if I’ve got the sum right) from the original 3 dye colours used.

At the detail level I find it fascinating. My original goal was to explore the different effects available by mixing colours in the dye versus optical colour mixing in the cloth. I think it’s going to take a long time to explore the answer(s), plus how far they can be generalised. For example, I find myself drawn to the chromatic neutrals (subdued almost greys, the result of including all 3 dye colours). I think they are beautiful in themselves plus work very well as a unifying and enhancing element as weft across a wide range of warp colours – which could probably be predicted, given the shared dye colour “parentage”. I wonder how far I can take that with a different range of original dye colours.

Some detail shots to finish. Regard the colour on your monitor as indicative only. I haven’t played with the colour in the software at all, but I’m seeing the photos on 2 screens at once (laptop plus a separate screen), and the colours displayed are quite different – rather a jarring effect.

Related posts:

Work in progress 2: https://fibresofbeing.wordpress.com/2011/02/13/inching-forward/

Work in progress 1: https://fibresofbeing.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/sweaty-palms/

colours and sample: https://fibresofbeing.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/first-things-first/

draft: https://fibresofbeing.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/progress-on-the-plan/

2 Responses to “Colour gamp shawl finished!”


  1. 1 Diane Roeder February 20, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Lovely, lovely work. I love the idea of a woven gamp based on hand dyed colors. There’s a limit to how much optical blending works, depending on size of warp and weft and distance from the item.
    I dye wool a lot, and I too love to fiddle around with my three primaries to produce grays… and browns. Because of the nature of home dyeing my grays and browns have variations, tending toward one primary or another in various spots. I have some gray roving that no one has shown interest in at sales, and I can’t understand why. It has overtones of opal green and soft rosy gray… very subtle and fluid, because I was aiming for that balance point among the three primaries.


  1. 1 Spontaneity « Fibres of Being Trackback on April 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Categories


