Huck colour update

While mulling over the possibilities for my problem scarf, I continue to potter along with the huck project mentioned here and here.

I’ve dyed more mixes using Lanaset’s violet, yellow 4g and bordeaux. The first set was 3% depth of shade (DOS), shown here in a very poor photo (oops…). Left is the 1% DOS shade. Still being wound into balls is a 0.2% set.

The second photo gives an idea of the impact of the different DOS. It shows the top of each triangle. So the top 3 are all 100% violet; the second row all have 80% violet with the remainding 20% either yellow or bordeaux.

The little sample is done – photo to come. Tomorrow’s plan is to finish winding all the dyed yarns and do some heavy duty calculating on shawl size and how many little rectangles of colour I can have. My 3 basic dye colours become 21 in a colour triangle, times 3 DOS sets means 63 colours. In theory that would mean 3969 rectangles for every combination of warp and weft (63 of each), but almost half would be repeats. I’m going to have to trim a bit!

4 Responses to “Huck colour update”


  1. 1 Restless Knitter January 28, 2011 at 3:17 am

    I drool every time I see your display of your dyeing. The way they go from color to color is just so amazing. It makes me want to dye my own yarns. The simple fact is that I’m too lazy. It would mean creating an area to dye in, having to pay attention to specific measurements, taking notes on what I did and plan to do. Then I look at your pictures again and know that it would all be worth it if I just took the time to do it. Until I get my act together though, I’ll continue to stare at your wonderfully stacked and dyed yarns with amazement.

    • 2 fibresofbeing January 28, 2011 at 6:15 am

      Paying attention, taking notes – sounds just like weaving!
      Time is the problem, and energy. Wish I had a bucketload more of both.

  2. 3 Louisa January 28, 2011 at 5:56 am

    Don’t you just love that Lanaset Violet? There’s no other dye quite like it. It’s luminous!


Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories


