New colours, new sample

Red 2B, Green B, Navy R. DOS 1%

The latest results of dye mixing – now moving to a paler depth of shade (although DOS refers to the ratio of dye to materials being dyed, not directly to the value of the end result. Anyway, less dye available to the same amount of yarn equals a lighter colour).

In progress is dyeing at 1% DOS using the colours in my planned weaving mix project. I dye six 25g skeins at a time, there are 21 colours in each mix triangle, and it takes a few days for each skein to move through the steps – winding yarn from a larger skein; dyeing including sitting in the dye liquid overnight; drying thoroughly; rinsing; drying thoroughly; winding into a ball. It’s been a nice, potter-y thing to do while on holidays. I’ll have to find a new rhythm when I go back to work next week.

huck lace / colour mix sample

I’ve made some progress on the sample for the colour mix project. Actually, at one time more progress than shows here – I wove the header then found a threading error, so have gone backwards a bit. Rather embarrassing – I was busy being smug, thinking how nicely the colour striping and threading and sett and denting worked together, making it so easy to avoid errors … then oops, what’s going on there??? Maybe (I hope) it makes it easy to identify errors (but that assumes there aren’t more lurking, ready to bite).

The colours here are from the Yellow 2R, Blue 2R, Red G triangle shown here, and I’ll use a few others from that mix set as weft. The sample is on my Ashford table loom, using 4 shafts. The final piece I plan to put on the Noble loom, spreading the threading over more shafts.

7 Responses to “New colours, new sample”


  1. 1 Cally January 8, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Wow, this is some seriously methodical dyeing, I’m impressed. The results are going to give you such a glorious range of colours – I can’t wait to see how you put them together!

    • 2 fibresofbeing January 8, 2011 at 8:43 am

      Thanks Cally.
      I think the range of yarns available in Australia is much smaller than the UK and North America. Of course there’s internet shopping (yay!), but there can be surprises with colour. So it makes sense to build some self-sufficiency.
      Which is all just rationalisation – I just enjoy the opportunity to play with silk and colour.
      Judy

  2. 3 Linda Lewis January 11, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Good work. Early in my weaving career I dyed fibers but have found that it slows me down when what I really want to do is design and weave. Thankfully, Silk City Fibers has a great selection of colors. I greatly admire your effort.

    • 4 fibresofbeing January 11, 2011 at 6:07 pm

      Hi Linda
      It does take time and I guess is a dilution of focus. For me it feels like turning full circle. I started my “fibre life” silk painting and fabric dyeing. I like the idea of cycling through skills, learning and building and making new connections each time.
      Judy


  1. 1 Huck colour update « Fibres of Being Trackback on January 27, 2011 at 10:44 pm
  2. 2 Spontaneity « Fibres of Being Trackback on April 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm
  3. 3 Stage 6 – Combining textures and colour effects « Fibres of Being Trackback on December 13, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Goodyer girls long weekend in Hobart

Calendar of Posts

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories


