Wattle

The “tangle waiting to happen” in my post here never eventuated. The cottolin behaved beautifully and my first attempt at tieing on a warp went smoothly – the sort of thing you hope for, but rather a surprise if it actually happens!

The plan was another bellringing huck lace scarf. The last one used two very similar colours for warp and weft (same link) so this time I decided to try for a bit more contrast with a golden-green weft.  Green and gold are Australia’s national colours, so I stuck to the theme and did some research to find “Wattle Surprise Major” – wattle being our national flower, and of course green and gold. I was a bit worried the final result would be a bit too “Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi” (I feel enormously proud and lucky to be Australian, but don’t see the need for overt patriotism or saccarine sentimentality).

I love the result, and there’s not a whiff of Oi! or syrup about it.

Having colours with more contrast leads to a much more pronounced difference in colour front and back. Add in the variations of plain weave, spots and full lace and the fabric has a lot of visual interest when worn. (Unfortunately summer has definitely arrived, and the scarf won’t be getting any wear for a while.)

The actual weaving was a real pleasure. I’m still using the “double treadle” workaround, but my footwork continues to improve and I had very few clatters of half-lifted shafts. The key is to lift my foot off the treadle, not let the foot ride up.

Another improvement I’m pleased about was in weave file preparation. I was finding it very fiddley to edit the weave draft in fiberworks. Instead I took the wif file from the Killamarsh scarf, and used an excel spreadsheet and a series of lookups and if statements to generate a new Wattle wif. I don’t think there’s a lot of demand in the world for a “huck lace bellringing method weave draft generator” – but if there is they’ll be beating a path to my door!

10 Responses to “Wattle”


  1. 1 Geodyne November 21, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    It’s jaw-droppingly stunning, is what it is. I can see the wattle in it.

    You should really be proud of yourself – definitely not an oi in sight! (Living overseas as I do, I cringe every time I hear that. Couldn’t we have found something sightly more intelligent as a rallying cry?)

    • 2 fibresofbeing November 21, 2009 at 10:26 pm

      I don’t know where the oi came from, but I wish it would go back there! Predicating national prestige on the results of sporting contests was our first mistake. (says she with two left feet and recurrent vertigo 🙂

  2. 3 Lesley November 21, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Congratulations – a beautiful end result. I am a recent convert to weaving and loving it but have a long way to go yet. Where do you source your yarns for weaving? I would love to know. I live in rural Victoria.

  3. 5 Life Looms Large November 21, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    That’s beautiful! I love how the yarns work together…and the yarn looks like it has a nice sheen.

    Glad that your warp worked out well for you!!!

    Sue

    • 6 fibresofbeing November 21, 2009 at 10:32 pm

      Thanks Sue

      I really enjoy weaving with cottolin. It has a nice feel and sheen, plus Petlins has a huge range of colours at the moment so there’s lots of scope for experimentation.

      I hope your current challenge warp decides to play nice. You certainly got a good range of suggestions from people.

      Cheers
      Judy

  4. 7 Trapunto November 28, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Nice! You can put your national colors together in a close mix, and they actually look great! I’m a little jealous…


  1. 1 A day in the life of my looms « Fibres of Being Trackback on January 1, 2010 at 3:55 pm
  2. 2 Possibilities « Fibres of Being Trackback on December 31, 2010 at 1:53 pm
  3. 3 Inspiration strikes on the bus? « Fibres of Being Trackback on February 21, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

#voteyes

Calendar of Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Categories


