Killamarsh in huck lace

20091109_killamarsh2I first played with this idea at the beginning of the year (blogged here) – bellringing methods interpreted in huck lace. One of my ringing friends asked me to make scarf as a Christmas gift for his mother, using “Killamarsh Surprise Major” as the pattern.

Johnathon chose two reds from my stash of cottolin, one verging on orange, the other a bit bluer.

20091109_killamarsh1The variation in texture – plain weave, spots and full lace – plus the slightly different colours in warp and weft create a gentle interest through the cloth.

20091109_killamarsh3I’m not sure if you’ll be able to see the movement of the plain weave (representing the treble or highest bell) and lace (the path of a “working” bell).

In the original piece I had trouble with shafts sticking. I had trouble again with the deflected double weave (blogged here), but that was likely largely due to my woeful warping job.  Before starting this project I opened up the loom’s control box and tested all the solenoids – no problems there. I warped carefully and think I got a reasonably even tension. I started weaving the header – and got sticking.

One possibility is that the loom needs adjusting. There’s some uneven tension in the cables that go past the control box and up to lift the shafts. However it’s not clear the best way to adjust that – and I felt a more likely suspect (and certainly a contributing factor) was user error (ie me).

In my very first work on this loom I had similar challenges and improvements in my treadling technique made a huge difference – lifting my feet and treading crisply. I needed to practice and improve my technique and rhythm  – but I didn’t want to ignore mistakes or to continually interrupt myself by unweaving. My solution was not elegant, but it was effective. I added a blank lift between every actual lift of the shafts. So for each pick I pressed the treadle twice – once for the real lift, once a “blank” which shook out any sticky shafts. Every once in a while a shaft would lift or half lift on a “blank” and the movement would unstick things. So the next real lift would be clean.

It worked! I didn’t have to do any unweaving, I don’t think I had any bad real lifts, and I could focus on working smoothly. It’s not a permanent solution and it would be hopelessly inefficient for a production weaver – but it gives me my chance to learn. It was a pleasure to weave instead of a struggle.

20091109_next_huckI’m keen for more, so I decided to try another new thing – tying on a new warp to the old threading. Currently it looks rather scarey and a huge tangle just waiting to happen – time will tell.

 

5 Responses to “Killamarsh in huck lace”


  1. 1 trapunto November 9, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Airy is the word. The first thing I thought of was rising bubbles. In strawberry soda maybe! Solenoids are greek to me, but I once wove a shawl where I had to reach out with my and unstick the lamms after every pick. I was really motivated to fix my loom by the end of it.

    • 2 fibresofbeing November 9, 2009 at 4:51 pm

      I did one electronics course as part of my computer science degree – I thought as a professional I should know a little about what was going on “under the bonnet”. After that course I decided to adjust my ideals and focus on what I could understand!

  2. 3 Alison November 9, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Your scarf is lovely. Such a clever design!

  3. 4 Life Looms Large November 10, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Nice new blog header!!

    I didn’t know you were also a software person. (Me too!) I keep discovering that same thing about different weavers….and of course it’s understandable why we’d be attracting to weaving with all of its similarities to computers.

    The lace scarf is a beauty. I love the way the musical pattern meanders over the fabric.

    Hopefully your slightly scary looking photo won’t really be scary in real life! I appreciate seeing that other weavers have things that look like that hanging off their looms sometimes!

    Sue


  1. 1 Wattle « Fibres of Being Trackback on November 21, 2009 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Categories


