Loom malfunction

Words to strike fear into any weaver’s heart! I started the weekend with a block of time marked out and determination to make progress. I was taking control of my life. After a couple of frustrating months I was regaining balance and living my priorities. I was talking to myself in italics and I should know that is never a good thing!

loom_malfunctionAfter a strong start, this. It’s a small thing. A wire end has worked loose of the crimp. Therefore shaft 11 doesn’t lift.

It doesn’t look too hard to fix – just a new crimp the appropriate size and suitable tools to remove the old and attach the new. The hardware store has nothing suitable for this gauge wire. I have some hopes of success at a fishing tackle place or a jewellery findings store, both of which can be found near my workplace – on the other side of the weekend.

Sigh.

3 Responses to “Loom malfunction”


  1. 1 Kimmen May 19, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Oh man, these things can be a bear – ask me how I know. Don’t forget Radio Shack or whatever equivalent you may have nearby- electronics splices may work for this.

  2. 2 shirleytreasure May 24, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I live in woop woop, Gingin WA!! So I know what your going thru.
    I find if a problem like this happens, I stock up on ‘the fixers’ so when ever, or if ever it happens again I shall ‘be prepared’ (because thats what I learnt at the Girl Guides)
    Result: having a bigger & more impressive tool box of goodies than my DH!
    Shirley
    http://www.shirleytreasure.wordpress.com

  3. 3 Jane B September 15, 2012 at 7:23 am

    I think that you girls who are dedicated to weaving are a very tough breed. Not only do you have these hardware problems to keep ahead of, but your planning and total commitment to a project must be just amazing.


Leave a Reply

Instagram

Germination II
In Basketry NSW Transformation exhibition Sunday 2 July. More info fibresofbeing.wordpress.com

Calendar of Posts

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Categories


