Muttaburrasaurus Delight Major

muttaburrasaurusCurrently on the loom – a summer and winter representation of Muttaburrasaurus Delight Major (fourth’s place bell).

A deliberately obscure (but accurate) description – and a huge amount of fun.

I’ve been working on the change ringing teatowels idea I mentioned in this post. An initial sample was very useful – wet finishing (machine cold wash and warm tumble dry) made a big difference to the appearance of the cloth – and left enough warp for two towels.

muttaburrasaurus2I see the back of the pattern as I weave, which reduces the number of shafts to lift on most picks. Each horizontal stripe represents one “change” of ringing (in which each bell rings once in a predetermined order). Given the limited range of colours I have available, I’ve used pink to show where the treble (highest note) bell sounds and turquoise to follow the path of the “fourth’s place” bell.

plantagenetIt’s easier to see the changing positions of the bells on this view of the cloth on its way to the cloth beam (just for fun I’ll be pendantic and mention that this is sixth’s place Plantagenet Surprise Major).

Weaving lessons so far?

  • I’m using a temple again and like it.  Takes a bit of fussing, but I’m getting a better and more consistent result.
  • The three shuttle thing is very slow, but it’s not a race and I’m finding it interesting and absorbing.
  • I haven’t shown the sampler, since the yarns chosen (cottolin warp, pattern weft and tabby weft) are unusual and chosen specifically for this project, as is the actual threading so probably not helpful for other applications.  The general comment is that the order of picks  – which tabby first, how to manage the two pattern colours etc – has a big impact on the final effect.
  • muttaburra_selvedgethe selvedges are bumpy where I carry the colours up. Cally has been talking about selvedges here and here. Personally, I’m accepting them as an integral element of the weave. The weft bends up and down as it passes across the warp, and it bends around as it is carried up the selvedge. It’s the nature of the beast.

That’s it for weaving content. Some background information – the particular patterns or bellringing methods I’m using on these full scale samples are not in standard use. I’m planning to give them to my mother (also a bellringer, as are most of my immediate family), who whose interests also include paleontology (muttaburrasaurus is/was an Australian dinosaur – more info here) and english history (she’s a member of the Plantagenet Society)

5 Responses to “Muttaburrasaurus Delight Major”


  1. 1 Lynnette January 20, 2009 at 3:38 am

    What a wonderful idea to base your pattern on, the colour blocks really show up well. I can’t wait to see the finished project after they are wet finished. As for your selvedges, I feel your pain…I’ve found that most structures that used multiple wefts have funky edges and if they are consistent they look fine in the end.

  2. 2 Jane January 24, 2009 at 3:01 am

    Very very very cool! It is always so intriguing to discover the many ways we weavers derive inspiration and patterns.

    It is really neat to be able to “read” the bells.

    Brava!

    Jane

  3. 3 Nola January 26, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Wow, I am just blown away by the work you’re doing! Considering we started at the same time, you have advanced so far – the benefit of regular classes and a more complex loom, I guess. Just wonderful.


  1. 1 Summer and winter towels done « Fibres of Being Trackback on January 31, 2009 at 6:14 pm
  2. 2 Ringing in huck lace « Fibres of Being Trackback on February 1, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories


