Doubleweave wrapup and onward to overshot

8s_double_wornThank you for the comment Trapunto – I can’t provide the Aztec princess but I did get some nice remarks at work this week. Although a bit short for a scarf, it worked well as a sort of shawl collar. Peg, it’s 8 shafts – this is one of the second year class weaving projects. Our first year class was too small to continue, so two of us accelerated into second year. It was an effort for our weaving teacher Liz, since she’s been coming early each week to continue first year theory with us. Tatiana and I have both fallen behind on the practical work, but my hopes are high to do some catching up over the summer break.

overshot1First cab off the rank – overshot. The warp and tabby weft are cottolin. The pattern weft is two strands of bendigo woollen mill’s two ply classic wool. The threading is Ancient Rose Design from Marguerite Porter Davison’s A Handweaver’s Pattern Book. My original intention was to change pace and try using neutrals, but on checking my shelf it became apparent that my shopping is rather skewed and slightly dusty pink is the closest I had.

I’m having some trouble with getting the beat right. The warp is set at 18 ends per inch, so I’m aiming at just over 16 picks per inch while under tension on the loom. This is only considering the pink tabby weft, which is intended to produce a nice balanced plain weave. It ignores the claret wool pattern weft, which is meant to smoosh down in between. Trying to beat harder didn’t actually do the job, and the little table loom and my shoulders and neck started complaining. Plan B is to put the weft in at a steeper angle – the greater length allows the weft to move up and down around the warp threads more and so pack down better. Sorry, I can’t give proper attribution for this idea – I’ve been reading lots about overshot in the past week and can’t remember the source. However, it is helping. I’ve found it slower since I don’t have a lot of space in front of the beater and have to fiddle about. I only need to do it for the tabby – the pattern weft started looking a bit loose and messy on the floats.

Extra ideas welcome – and to those who aren’t familiar with overshot my apologies. I’ll try to give a bit of an explanation on how it works when the sample’s done and I can review what I’ve learnt.

5 Responses to “Doubleweave wrapup and onward to overshot”


  1. 1 Barbara December 5, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Using a temple will permit you to pack in weft much more easily without so much physical effort. It also will allow you to not worry about about creating a steep angle as you place shots of weft, which significantly speeds the weaving process (once you become accustomed to using the temple…which takes a bit of practice, but is a worthwhile skill to develop). This helped me enormously on a large/wide overshot project which involved fine threads, a dense fabric, and was challenging to “square the pattern” (that is, until the temple entered the picture!). Also, if you were to do the same project on a floor loom, it probably would be a lot easier, too, even without a temple. Getting a good even beat on table looms is always harder for me.

  2. 2 Lynnette December 6, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I too am weaving Overshot at the moment for the Senior level of the Master Weavers programme and have found that warp tension is integral to squaring the weave structure. Try weaving with a loose tension and you may be able to pack in the pattern weft a bit more easily and firmly. I am a temple advocate and always weave with one as I find it helps to minimize draw in on the pattern weft. The temple keeps the fell of the cloth taut I can always see the 45 degree angles I am aiming for.

  3. 3 Peg in South Carolina December 7, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Thank you for letting me know that the double weave was done on 8 shafts. Makes a difference!

  4. 4 trapunto December 9, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Interesting. On my last project I found that *increasing* the tension made the weft want to pack tighter. Lots of factors, here. I like the pink and red! I hope you don’t mind that I tagged you for a photo meme, if you feel like taking it up.


  1. 1 Overshot misses the mark « Fibres of Being Trackback on December 23, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Categories


