Geoff’s scarf

It’s been a busy few weeks. We had ATASDA’s AGM and I’m still national president. ATASDA also presented a one day conference “Art Textiles” which was fabulous, with excellent speakers, venue, no technology hitches (well, a font that was fixed in 60 seconds) and organisationally very smooth on the day (the result of course of frantic work leading up). Still, all of that is mere distraction – back to the focus of the day, which is Geoff’s scarf all done!

I am so pleased with it! Impossibly smug!! I can’t (don’t want to) help it, I’m just so happy with how it turned out!

Before I’m too obnoxious, a little reality check. The beat is uneven, especially if you compare beginning to end. It’s also a bit less than I intended, because I forgot to look at my notes based on the sample and relied on memory. There are skipped threads and spots where a shaft didn’t lift.

Don’t care. I love it. It’s soft and drape-y and the colours work and the selvedges are pretty good.

Best of all Geoff is almost as happy as me. He was involved throughout – his choice of base design, of colour, of dimensions. He’s been taking it around showing it off and pleased as anything with us both.

A detail. The base pattern was from Thrilling Twills. I figured out the little transition bits to change directions. You can see a bit more about the planning here, and a shot of work in progress here.

8 Responses to “Geoff’s scarf”


  1. 1 Taueret September 21, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    no wonder you’re both pleased, it’s gorgeous. I love its featheriness.

  2. 2 Donatella September 22, 2008 at 6:24 am

    I love the scarf too! Fantastic combination of colours and pattern!

  3. 3 Peg in South Carolina September 22, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Beautiful! You have every right to enjoy your victory! Are we going to get any post on what you learned at the “Art Textiles” conference? I would love to hear a bit.

  4. 4 trapunto September 22, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    You’re so right to be proud! I found it really hard to keep an even beat on the scarves I just wove since I was doing them in fits and starts, and point twills tend to highlight any unevenness. The nice thing about a muffler is that you never see the whole length of it at one time when you’re wearing it, so it doesn’t show.

  5. 5 Andrew Kieran September 23, 2008 at 12:48 am

    that is well nice like, izzat silk then? looks like silk. must feel dead nice against the skin

  6. 6 rivercityweaves September 24, 2008 at 9:10 am

    luscious! I wish I could feel it (every fiber artist probably understands that).


  1. 1 Double Weave Sampler « Fibres of Being Trackback on September 25, 2008 at 5:07 pm
  2. 2 Sampling supplementary warp « Fibres of Being Trackback on February 26, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Categories


