Colour and weave

With excellent timing, Dot left a comment asking about the colour and weave sample. I finished it during the week and took some scans last night.

With colour and weave, pattern is produced by using a variety of colours (or more importantly values) in the warp and weft.

The sample warp was a straight draft on 4 shafts. Going from left to right in the photo, part one alternated one dark end/one light end; part two: 2 light one dark; part three: 2 light 2 dark; part 4: 4 light 4 dark; part 5: a log cabin, with one light one dark for 5 repeats then switching to one dark one light. There were some slight adjustments at the beginning and end of some parts for balance.

When weaving, the same patterns of colour were used in the weft. So the band at the bottom was one light pick followed by one dark pick, repeated. For the sample I worked through the same 5 combinations of colour using plain weave, then went through everything again in a twill.

Liz (weaving teacher) always whets our appetite with each new exercise by showing us examples of finished pieces as well as samplers she and earlier students have made. She had a lovely black and white scarf using colour and weave – not all over but giving a huge amount of life and interest, the restraint increasing the impact.

Once the base sampler was done Liz encouraged us to play with other colours and ideas. I don’t have a stash of weaving yarns (yet??). The sampler used Bendigo Woollen Mills 2 ply classic wool that I bought from the guild, in maize (yellow divider), aster (lighter yarn) and prussian (the blue/purple darker value). I overdyed some maize with a turquoise in two depths of shade, getting greens in roughly the same values as the aster and prussian. I was also interested in trying a very slight variation in colours, so overdyed some aster and prussian with just a little red – not too much since I didn’t want to darken it a lot.

The combined photo shows three parts of the sampler. All alternate one dark one light in both warp and weft, in a twill. The top is the original colours. You can see the effect of colour and weave is the normal diagonal to the right of twill is replaced by a diagonal of colour to the left.

In the middle the turquoise overdyed yarns were used in the weft. Close up, to my eyes the colour dominates and I see diagonal to the right of the green. At some angles and at a distance the left diagonal of values is more prominant.

The bottom shows the lightly overdyed weft. The colour is much closer to the warp, so the value effect dominates. It’s not a huge difference, but to my eyes it is definitely a richer effect and in some of the patterns there is a more three dimensional element.

A world of possibilities!

6 Responses to “Colour and weave”


  1. 1 Dot August 12, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Hi Judy, thanks for explaining your colour and weave. It does look pretty. I wish I’d thought of including a log cabin section in my sampler, it is very interesting.

  2. 2 Dot August 12, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Hi Judy, thanks for the photos and explanation of your colour and weave. It’s very pretty. I wish I’d thought of including a log cabin section in mine, it’s interesting to see what happens.

    I have found that weavers often mention “colour and weave” but I’m only just beginning to work out what it might mean. There’s “colour and weave samplers” and “colour and weave effect”.

    Sometimes I think I only have 8 shafts and therefore I can only do certain patterns – but as I am learning about colour and weave I am becoming aware that this vastly extends the possibilities.

  3. 3 Leigh August 21, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Hi. I just came over from Dot’s blog. Lovely sample!

  4. 4 Andrew Kieran August 29, 2008 at 4:02 am

    hey, finally i’ve seen what colour and weave actually is!

    i had wondered. i’ve just finished making a houndstooth (is it?) with greatly successful equal tension and messy selvedges. maybe i’ll try a colour and weave sampler next if i can convince my tutor to let me take a table loom into class

    thanks

    -a


  1. 1 Colour and weave « Fibres of Being Trackback on November 9, 2009 at 4:31 pm
  2. 2 Possibilities « Fibres of Being Trackback on December 31, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Fabulous figure sculpting workshop with Kassandra Bossell!

Calendar of Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Categories


